Skip to content

Touching Kids

June 24, 2008

Wife and I were in a local branch of Next last week. As I wondered up to the top floor (Ting! Menswear and Home) there was a little boy of around 2 years old crying for his Mum.

As i noticed him, My wife came upstairs and I said to her to try and find the mum. In the meantime, the little fella was trying to go down the up escalator.

Aaaagh! What do I do??

I grabbed him and pulled him back and another guy used the emergency stop on the escalator.

By then a uniformed member of staff arrived and they took over and took the boy downstairs to his Mum (apparently clueless he was missing, but that’s a whole different story).

So here’s a thought. What would you do? In this day and age of the media exposure of paedophiles and missing children, would you dare touch someone else’s kid? What is worrying to me is that my gut instinct, which was to help the child, was then subdued by the fear of others thinking wrongly.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

