Skip to content

Book Tag

June 22, 2005

I’ve been hit by the Book tag meme thanks to Sameen!!

So books. My earliest memory of reading a book is when I was around 6 or 7. I stole my Dad’s torch (a big silver 5 ‘D’ battery jobbie) and got caught under the covers of my bed reading ‘The Wizard of Oz’. I got shouted at to go to sleep, but I didn’t feel guilty as I knew Mum & Dad wouldn’t mind. Then my time in Desh I read all sorts, from Huck Finn to a Nancy Drew Mystery (Oh the shame of it!).

Then I stopped reading for years, until the age of 13 when I picked up a copy of ‘The Wizard of Earthsea’ and it got me going again. I went through the typical boy’s Sci-Fi stage, reading ‘I, Robot’, and getting into ‘Nineteen Eighty-Four’ and on a lighter note, ‘HHG2G‘.

How many books do I own?: Currently, at the age of 30, I believe I have a library of around 500 books. Library is a bit of a misnomer as it sounds very grandiose, when in actual fact a lot of them are in boxes in the garden shed.

Subjects range from the Occult (Necronomicon Spellbook, The Grimoire of Armadel, The Goetia), to the Islamic (Islam and the Destiny of Man, Muhammad, Ghazali’s ‘Ihya Ulum Al-Din’). I also have a copy of Paul Coelho’s classic, ‘The Alchemist’ which Sameen can’t stop raving about.

Of course there are the kiddie’s books which have been popular in the recent past (All the Harry Potter’s, some Lemony Snickets, the first 2 parts of the Bartimaeus Trilogy and of course the classic His Dark Materials Trilogy)

There’s the horror of Clive Barker and the London based horror of Christopher Fowler (I still love the cover of Spanky)

The list is too long.

Last Book Bought:The Life of Mahatma Gandhi. Still getting through it, but it’s an interesting and open account of his life, if not a little too hagiographical.

Last Book Read: The Bookseller of Kabul by Asne Seierstad. A good read about a life and culture which look familiar to me, but altogether where I wouldn’t want to be

5 books that mean a lot to me:

The Quran: I think for obvious reasons, but it has allowed me to understand my faith a little better and not get embroiled in South Asian Islam which is a cultural hotch-potch.

The Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man by James Joyce: I read this when I was about 15 and it made me feel all grown up because I’d seen my 40 year old cousin reading Ulysses and that was a grown up’s book

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini: A cracking read about how the prejudices in the world are not limited to the colour of the skin and how a new life can change everyone’s perspective, but still make you remember your roots.

Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck: This book made me really think about how we treat people and how the American Dream is a bit of a fallacy which is not just American.

The Spook’s Apprentice by Joseph Delaney: Read this last year and I keep reading it. It reminds me of my youth and I can’t explain why. It’s all about witches and stuff. Don’t ask.

So I now have to tag: The Lone Oak Tree, Indigo Jo, Hijabman

From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. Salam.

    Just wanna say the title of ya blog rox.
    As dus the rest of ya bloggy.
    Koolified stuff.

    Aighty then take care,
    wasalam 🙂

  2. Salam, i am back again ( sory :S )..to say i jus noticed ya Natwest series blog below..haha…does cricket rock..or does it jus rock..lol..and bangladesh beat the Aussiessss..haha….as did England…now thats wat you cll cricket eh….aighty now i am out..

    oh yeh..i read of mice an’ men in skool-5 times…gosh…i think i might jus end up namin ma kid lennie or george or sumin….but yeh its a great read…the films ait too.

    Now i am really out…lol
    Wasalam

  3. Hey shapps, i know you tagged me but i did one of the book meme’s a couple weeks ago.

    🙂 Thanks though!

  4. It’s wonderful to know that there are other people who genuinely love books! It seems like everyone either (a) Loathes reading, or (b) Is a snobby book critic sort of person who has a severely limited taste in literature. I love The Kite Runner. You’ve got an awesome blog, keep up the good work.

  5. So…this is odd!! i didn’t think there were too many bangladeshi’s (like me) who’d mention "the quran" in their "favourite books" chronology!! hmm…so i hear (from rezwan bhai’s blog) that u used to be a pissed-of-protege like me as well..when you were in bd…when you used to be shunned by a society eaten from deep inside….so what changed you? Was there a knight in shining armor that came to rescue you?wellll…sigh…i guess i wont be able to know because such "MISSING BD SO MUCH" sort of feeling are yet to usurp in my mind…chao

    (PS: Great blog title….bring your own shisha..eh….for what? reflection is it self a lie…there are no two exact or absolute point were the light actually meets..our own lives are like that as well….hmm great metaphor man. :thumbs up: )

  6. your blog is very nice !

Leave a Reply

