Skip to content

Tagore

April 28, 2005

I am (re)discovering Tagore at the moment. Some of my earliest memories are as a little boy hearing my Dad sing ‘Jakhon Porbe Na Mor Paaye’ as he did stuff around the house.

“If thou speakest not I will fill my heart with thy silence and endure it.

I will keep still and wait like the night
with starry vigil and its head bent low with patience.

The morning will surely come, the darkness will vanish, and thy voice pour down in golden streams breaking through the sky.

Then thy words will take wing in songs from every one of my birds’ nests, and thy melodies will break forth in flowers in all my forest groves.”


– Song 14, Gitanjali, Rabindranath Tagore

From → Uncategorized

7 Comments
  1. Is it called Song 14, or does it have another name? And is it one of those that he wrote in English or is this translated? It sounds beautiful.

  2. Hi Nashat, its one of his original translations and in the book I‘ve got it‘s just marked as ‘14‘, but I think its called Patience.

  3. Listening to "Goponkotha" and "Amar nishitho raate" on the loop. What are you listening to Shappir?

  4. Right now, its "Rangamatir Poth". That just evokes so many memories for me. One day I will go to Rangamati. Oh and "Mone Robe Ki Na Robe". I‘m desperately looking for an original MP3 of "Ekla Cholo Re". Know anywhere?

  5. http://www.calcuttaweb.com/gaan/rabindra/index.shtml this page, not mp3, streaming. It‘s number 50, I am not sure if you can read Bangla, because the page is in Bangla

  6. Thank you. I‘ve now got that as an MP3 and also ‘Amar Sonar Horin‘. Apparently I used to sing that a lot as a kid. Bangla is not a problem. Don‘t ask me to write it though!

  7. i agree with you!

Leave a Reply

