Skip to content

Loneliness

February 9, 2005

A friend of mine told me today about how they had split up with their girlfriend and it got me thinking. I used to be a pretty lonely character and kind of craved attention. In fact to a certain degree I still do. I remember the wishful thinking as I watched TV on my own, or spent hours doing nothing as I spent time wallowing in self-pity. Or even reminiscing past relationships and picking up the phone when I clearly know I shouldn’t

But I have forgotten all of that and am surprised by how easy it is to do so. Is this something which happens to everyone in a relationship? I suppose it is the age old complaint of ‘You take me for granted’ which should get us thinking about how much we get out of being in a loving relationship. But I guess that rarely happens. And its only when it all falls down that we realise what we have lost out on.

Well with Valentine’s Day less than a week away, I feel a timely reminder is due to all those people out there to remember their partners AND THEIR FRIENDS! I admit I do take for granted my relationships and this is a form of an apology. I cannot promise to be the best person in the world…but I will try.

As to my friend, all I can say is that it will get better, as you know.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment

Leave a Reply

