Skip to content

Ramadan is coming…

October 13, 2004

 

Ramadan is so close, and I think about what it would be like to drop my addiction to caffeine. I try not to drink coffee in the evening as it is bound to keep me bouncing off the ceiling.

 

But surely Ramadan isn’t just about giving up the standard things…food drink and cussing.

 

I have made a promise to myself. Think of this month as a time to change for the better. I have made a lot of mistakes in my life both physical and spiritual. I have made promises to people and not kept them. I have lied. I have stolen. And all of these things have eaten away at my being. They have made me a different person.

 

I look at my wife and wonder at her strength of character and willpower. She is capable of so much. She can endure so much. I wish I had a millionth of what she has. For her presence in my life I am grateful. I grow more grateful everyday and hope that Ruq grows up to be just like her.

 

I have decided to celebrate Eid-ul-Fitr properly this year. I have to order lights for the back garden. I have to look at decorations for the house as well. And I believe fireworks will be ordered (never realised how expensive those things are!).

 

Together with all of this fun and stuff…I want to recite the whole Qur’an this month. I don’t anticipate getting to every Tarawih given my work being all over the country. 

Ramadan Mubarak!

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. i cant understand……

Leave a Reply

